A big thanks to our 2018 donors:

Gail and Barbara Riegle continue to be our lead donors — they have now sponsored three cohorts of “Riegle Scholars,” BMP staff members who combine support from the Riegles with their own savings to pursue a wide variety of career development opportunities.

Arnold Loo, D.O., an MSU-COM alum, is also a staunch and steady supporter — his gifts are in memory of his parents, Mr. Che Chin Loo and Ms. Chien Hwa Wong, and in support of global health experiences for current MSU-COM students.

Two former elective students, Christina Lindell and Jayaraj Salimath, make regular “payroll deduction” contributions to the Malawi Fund — those monthly infusions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks also to Grant and Terry Carrithers, John and Mary Jo Crosby, Annemarie Drummey and Alex Harris, Mark Risk, Kyle Minch, Mark Travassos, Therese Tomasoski, Karen Hassankhani, Mike and Mary Forness, Katie Cashen, Grace Armour, Bruce and Nina van Dop, the Allan Doctor Family, Rick and Susan Cover, Jamie M. Bartley, Brenda Harshman-Plonski, Gail Persons, and the David and Kristen James family (including Marissa, who collected cash and toys!), Merry Mombourquette(hand-sewn clothes for patients on the Research Ward), and, through the efforts of Colleen Hammond (Dept. of Radiology at MSU), a contribution from Holt Junior High that supported the local purchase of insecticide-treated bed nets. We give one to each patient on the Research Ward when they go home.

During 2018, the Malawi Fund covered repairs to the water tower and water tank at the MSU House (see front page). It supported Lufina Tsirizani, who presented a poster at the International AIDS conference in Amsterdam and Dr. Nginache Nampota who presented her poster at Interest Conference in Rwanda. The Malawi Fund covered the cost of having post-exposure HIV prophylaxis available for the elective students (happily, it wasn’t needed).

We used the Malawi Fund for a “pump-priming” activity, too: Dr. Chet Joyner, a promising young immunologist from Emory University, visited us in May and worked with Dr. Karl Seydel and his D.O./PhD student Sarah McNitt in Karl’s molecular parasitology lab in the College of Medicine. Pump-priming now may generate serendipity in the future.

Our reunion in August and our gathering at “trop med” (see below) were also supported by the Malawi Fund.

On average, expenditures from the Malawi Fund come to about $60,000 each year. In 2019, we’d like to continue to support activities like those listed above, and assuming no unexpected “adverse events” at the MSU House, we’d like to use some of the Malawi Fund income to upgrade one of the rooms in the outbuilding behind the main house. We’ve fondly referred to it as the “introvert’s room” and we’ve used it for overflow visitors. It already has a water hookup, but there are NO amenities. For $3,000, we can install a sink, a toilet, a shower, a solar water heater and spruce up the furnishings.

Your contribution to sustaining all that our NIH grants don’t cover would be gratefully received and hugely appreciated. Please donate online at the Malawi Fund site. Thank you!

“Given all the contemporary angst among American MDs over ‘user-unfriendly’ electronic medical records, Patrick and I feel  truly uplifted in supporting the malaria EMR in Malawi. Just think: no more searching for scarce paper and pencils! That fact alone puts everything in perspective.”

Claire Panosian Dunavan and Patrick Dunavan
Claire is Past-President, American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene

Loren Wise
Mindy Frimodig
Jamie and Eric Bartley
Jeanne Haberer
Kelley Burnett and Al Crane
Cobie and Rich Whitten
Faiz Francis
Rick Laney
Johanna Daily
Bridget Wills
John and Maryjo Crosby
Jeff and Jessica Kovan
Laura Erhart and Adam Aiken
Cristiana Cairo
Mike and Mary Forness
Christie Lindell
Jim and Diana Huckle
Catherine and Jonathan Feintuch
Brandy and Jamie Eberhardt
Karen and John Bollman
Ruth Magen
MSU-COM alumnus in support of Dr. Terrie Taylor and colleagues; in their clinical research in Malawi as well as furthering COM’s educational mission, for predoctoral and postdoctoral fellows.
Jeanne Wiebenga